About - Group Structure - Trident

About / News

News details

7-Up National Waterpolo Championships 2004 5/19/2004

The 7-UP National Waterpolo Championships 2004 will kick off on Friday, 21st June. This was announced by Mr. Robert Ebejer, President of the Aquatic Sports Association of Malta (ASA) during a press conference held today at Farsons Brewery.

The ten teams taking part in this year’s competition are: Neptunes Vodafone, Go Mobile Sirens, Sliema Burger King, Marsascala Breakers, Exiles RMF, San Giljan KIA Motors, Marsaxlokk Freeport, Valletta United Fortina Spa, Ta' Xbiex Mermaids Paradise u Otters ASC from Gozo.

The draws for this year’s edition of the 7-UP National Waterpolo Championships were conducted by Mr. Adrian Farrugia, ASA General Secretary. “Due to commitments of both the National Juniors and Seniors in September 2004, this year’s last league game shall be played on 15th August 2004, followed by the Knock-Out Championships” said Mr Farrugia.

The championship will again be run in the same manner as that of previous years; all teams will play each other in the Preliminary Round, then, according to placings obtained, the teams will be separated into Division I and Division II. The first four placed teams (Division I) will play a further two rounds to determine the 7-UP National Champion, while the other teams (Division II) will play each other in another round to determine the 7-UP Second Division Champion.

Division I matches shall be played over four sessions of eight minutes each, two minutes rest between sessions, and four minutes rest between the second and third sessions. Division II matches shall be played over four sessions of seven minutes each with two minutes rest between all sessions.

Ms. Alison Schembri, 7-UP Brand Executive, said, “Through the 7-UP brand we have consolidated the strong relationship that already existed between Farsons and the ASA for a number of years. 7-UP has sponsored the ASA for the last three years, also supporting the Winter League and the First and Second Division Knock-Out competitions.”

At the end of the conference, John Soler (Sliema ASC) was presented with the Waterpolo Player of the Year 2003 trophy, while David Pace Lupi (Exiles SC) was presented with the trophy for Waterpolo Player of the Year 2003 for 2nd Division.