About - Group Structure - Trident

About / News

News details

Budweiser Cup Gives Hacienda Players A Chance To Live The Dream 7/30/2003

Nine Teams From Around the World to Play in Finals at Giants Stadium Complex in New York

Currently enjoying a dream holiday in New York are seven lucky players from Hacienda Bar, who recently won the Budweiser Pub Challenge. Hacienda Bar represented Malta in the Budweiser Cup international finals, which took place yesterday 30 July at the Giants Stadium practice field in East Rutherford, N.J.

Budweiser, the Official Beer of the 2006 FIFA World Cup(tm), has given football players from around the world, including Malta, the opportunity to live out their dreams in the international finals of the Budweiser Cup six-on-six football tournament. Budweiser Cup qualifying tournaments were held in nine countries. These were Argentina, England, Guam, Italy, Mexico, Northern Ireland, United Arab Emirates, the United States and in Malta through Wands Limited, local importer and distributor of Budweiser beer.

The Hacienda team is currently experiencing some of the highlights that go along with being an international football star. Each player won a roundtrip airline ticket, three nights hotel accommodation in New York City and tickets to see Manchester United play against Juventus at the Giants Stadium on July 31.

Malta's qualifying tournament was held locally last June at Luxol football grounds for players chosen from their favourite pub. This is the second time this tournament has been held in Malta.

Budweiser Brand Manager, Mr Geoffrey Busuttil before departing for New York, said: "Budweiser Cup is an exciting event for the Maltese team to live the dream of being an international football star. Budweiser has been a significant sponsor of football and Wands is delighted to be associated with first class soccer events."

The following is the draw for the Budweiser Cup international finals held yesterday:

Group 1 
Argentina, United States, Guam, Italy and United Arab Emirates 

Group 2
Northern Ireland, Malta, England and Mexico